The Illinois Department of Transportation's Bureau of Safety Programs and Engineering (BSPE) acts as the state's Highway Safety Office. Federal funding supports hundreds of local agencies in their efforts to reduce injuries and fatalities associated with traffic crashes. 


Grants are administered according to the Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) and operate from October 1 to September 30. Grant applications for FFY20 will be available in January 2019.


Highway Safety Grants available in FFY19 include:

  • Sustained Traffic Enforcement Program/Enforcement Local Alcohol Program (STEP/eLAP)
  • Local Alcohol Program (LAP)
  • Injury Prevention (IP) Program - note: IP grants are combined with Child Passenger Safety (CPS) and Regional Traffic Safety Resource Center (RTSRC) grants in FFY19!
  • Traffic Records (TR) Program


 Visit for more details.