Illinois Child Passenger
Law Change - Effective January 1, 2019
Children under the age of two (2) must ride rear-facing.
Children under the age of eight (8) must be secured in an
appropriate child restraint system. An appropriate system:
fits the child;
fits the vehicle;
and is used according to the manufacturer’s guidelines. *
The child restraint must be provided by parent or legal
Every person transporting a child under age eight (8) is
responsible for properly securing the child in the vehicle.
Children weighing more than 40 pounds.
Children taller than 40 inches.
Children being transported in a vehicle weighing more than
* Height and weight limits are determined by the car
seat/booster seat manufacturer.
** Citation may be waived with
Child Restraint Citation Compliance
According to Illinois Law all vehicle occupants, regardless
of seating position, are required to use a properly adjusted
and fastened seat belt. Fines start at $25 and may vary
depending on associated court costs and number of
To view the full copy of the Illinois Seat Belt Law,
The Child Passenger Protection Act was enacted to further
protect the most vulnerable occupants of vehicles, young
children. The fine for failing to properly restrain a child
is $75 for the first offense and $200 for the second
To view the full copy of the Illinois Child Passenger
Information on the rear-facing requirement, effective
January 1, 2019, can be found on the home page.
For information on the Graduated Driver Licensing Law,